Vivaldi – The French Connection

Concertos for Flute, Violin, Bassoon and Strings

Avie Records – AV2178 Total running time 75.16 mins

  • ‘Paris’ Concerto 5 for strings & continuo in C, RV114
  • Concerto for basson, strings & continuo in F, RV488
  • Concerto for violin, strings & continuo in C, RV185, op.4 No.7
  • Concerto for flute, strings, bassoon & continuo in G, RV438 (late version)
  • ‘Paris’ Concerto 1 for strings & continuo in g minor, RV157
  • Concerto fragment for bassoon, strings & continuo in C, RV468
  • Concerto fragment for flute, strings & continuo in e minor, RV432
  • Concerto for flute, violin, bassoon & continuo in F, RV100
  • ‘Paris’ Concerto 3 for strings & continuo in c minor, RV119
  • Concerto for violin, strings & continuo in D, RV211

Katy Bircher – flute
Peter Whelan – bassoon
Adrian Chandler – violin/director

“Chandler is an impeccably stylish soloist in two concertos. Throughout, he also directs La Serenissima in eloquently precise but excitingly spontaneous performances of unfailingly imaginative music.”
The Sunday Times, July 2009

“Vivaldi at his stylistic best… La Serenissima’s period instruments bring a smooth beauty to some of the composer’s most elegant music.” ***** (5 stars)
Daily Express, June 2009

Back to all recordings